hello friend

challenge-nov-2016This is a mid-November reminder so there’s plenty of time to play at  CAS MIX UP.

Another framed masking done by smooshing earth tone watercolours over American Crafts card-stock.  While wet, I added a couple of grains of walnut stain crystals noted by the dark brown specs.  Once dry, I pressed the Versamark pad over the smooshed area and then removed the mask.  I sprinkled Ultra High Clear Gloss embossing powder and then proceeded to heat the granules under the card-stock until the granules started to melt onimg_1021 the surface to which I finished heating over this area.  I wanted to give the illusion of a ceramic tile.  (Note to self: when adding too much of this UH clear embossing powder, NOT everything will adhere to it, not even Glossy Accents 😛  )  On my second card, where I succeeded in getting the tile look on Bristol card stock, I couldn’t get my bouquet to stick.  The “hello friend” label was adhered with Scotch 3m Double Sided Foam Tape, YAY! Not sure that it’s acid-free, but I doubt it’ll affect the UH embossing powder.

hello friend” was stamped and clear embossed with versafine vintage sepia on vellum.  This piece was placed under the framed section of the first card.  Finally, I glued a die-cut duo of daisies to which a gold coloured bead string was attached and looped successfully 😉

Hope you can join the November fun at CAS MIX UP, can’t wait to see your creations in the gallery 😀

Thanks for stopping and for your thoughtful comments, HUGz joanna-cmu-signatureimg_1030thumb_img_1069_1024

9 thoughts on “hello friend

  1. These are both awesome, Joanna! I love the close up so we can see all the fantastic details! I love the embossed ceramic look with the textured card stock! Lots of wonderful texture! And your loops of gold thread are so delicate and pretty!

    Like

  2. TFS both beautiful cards Joanne. You definitely achieved your tile effect. Have you ever tried cracked glass with your UTEE? You are making me want to use that technique, which I have not done for several..years!

    I love how you finished off your 1st card with your cord and die cut flowers and vellum sentiment. I love how you stamped a border on the frame of your 2nd card. You are so talented my friend. Hugs, Nancy

    Like

    • Oh now I can’t wait to hear of this NEW technique, cracked glass, do share 😛 Thank you so much Nancy, we can learn so much from each other. I am so gracious for being a part of these gifted gals.
      Hugs dear friend, Joanna xx

      Like

  3. Love the way you used the UTEE over your masked panel! Both are beautiful cards, though I’m most partial to the first one – love the die cut flowers, frame, and sentiment on vellum.

    Like

  4. WOW … two beautiful design Joanna. LOVE the look of your background … it does look like a ceramic tile — so thick and glossy. Amazing design with the grouping of die-cut flowers and gold thread for your first card, all framed up so perfectly. And the second card shows how you can add a beautiful border stamp and still have a CAS design. Great cards Joanna!! xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.