September CAS Mix Up reminder 2020

Welcome back to our September CAS Mix Up Challenge ” reminder for embossing with dies”. I am your host this month! Don’t forget to head over to the blog for more inspiration from our special guest Mac and the awesome design team, plus some fun videos 😉

For this first card, I inked up the PB Sun Fire die with some leaf green archival ink, before dry embossing. Depending on your die cutting tool, some fine tuning may be necessary before starting. I discovered that my Spellbinders’ Platinum worked best with two embossing mats and the 3D embossing plate. This made it possible to emboss without cutting through the paper. Then out came the colouring pencils, guided by a google search image of an oriental lily. I know the stamens should stem from the middle, but hey I liked the clean colouring. This was partially die cut and adhered to the hot pink backing. Was I nervous, YUP! But it was worth the risk 😀 Clear Nuvo drops were applied to the stamens. The little die cut tag was stamped “Du fond du coeur” and a little heart was added.

For the second card, the PB rose die was inked up with Versafine black and dry embossed. Using my grey colouring pencils I shaded the whole flower. I then clear heat embossed. Many ask me how I clear heat emboss my die embossed cards. All I do is make a stencil of the die with printer paper, line it up with my image and using the Versamark cube, (to stay in control and sometimes using the pen), ink up the sections I want to heat emboss. Finally I stamped an IO French script stamp with grey ink, matted the piece on black linen card stock and I was done.

Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you in the gallery, HUGz,

12 thoughts on “September CAS Mix Up reminder 2020

  1. Two beautiful cards. Your coloured lily looks really pretty, and I absolutely love the black and white rose.
    Thank you for hosting such a fabulous challenge, it’s opened up a whole new way of using my dies xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Two beautiful flower cards with embossing, Joanna. I’ve had fun with this month’s challenge – that’s for thinking of this technique!

    Your stargazer lily is gorgeous! It’s my favourite flower … and it’s pink! 🙂 Amazing colouring! Your gray shaded rose is to classy looking. The script background adds to it even more. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not one, but two gorgeous cards, Jo! Your creativity keeps going to new levels! Love the lily that’s so beautifully colored and partially die cut! It is definitely worth the effort! I love your shades of gray and black with the script! So classy! Thanks for the fun challenge this month, dear friend!

    Like

  4. Joanna both of these cards are stunning and have the ‘Wow’ factor x. Marvellous colouring/drawing on your first beautiful card. Such a unique and amazing second one. Stunning creativity and tons of inspiration, thank you Joanna x.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You never fail to WOW me! The first card is just beautiful in your gorgeous colors. Your second card- well I LOVE that one. It’s been a while since anyone did a black and white that has such an incredible impact and that one does! You are the queen of techniques and how we’d love to see you do a video!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hmmmm… think you might have no problem guessing which is my favorite! But, I love them both, Joanna! I never would have thought to add ink prior to embossing – you’re very clever, my friend! Thanks for sharing your clever way of adding the clear embossing powder, too!
    =]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.