September CAS Mix Up

Capture d_écran 2018-08-14 à 13.55.15It’s time to play along again with our latest CAS Mix Up September Challenge, hosted by Bonnie.  We’re inking up our stamps with markers.  Our guest this month is Chrissie!

For my card, I started with a piece of vellum, the Penny Black Gentle Whisper stamp and my Misti.  Because the ink rests on top of this paper, I occasionally dried with my heat gun before adding more ink.  Tombow dual brush markers were used for this technique (Cool Gray #5 and Black).  I also added some ColorBox Frost white pigment ink refill, with a small brush, to give the flower some highlights.  Once satisfied I left the stamp in the Misti and cleaned it.  To fix all this colour on the vellum, I added Versamark in order to clear heat embossed the final result.

Using Altenew fine frames rectangles die on white and gray card stock, I added three frames for my torn vellum piece.  I also use tengucho paper for added framing.  This was adhered to a texture white card base and the card was done.

Capture d_écran 2018-09-02 à 19.31.52

I’m also linking my card to the Less is More Challenge #379 where the theme is Black, White + One Colour (hoping gray counts 😉 )

 

Now let’s see what fantastic inspiration the CAS Mix Up design team has created for you and do check out their personal blogs if you have the time, as there could be a bonus approach to inking up with markers 😉  Thanks for stopping by, HUGz,

JoannaIMG_3055 - copie

EnregistrerEnregistrer

14 thoughts on “September CAS Mix Up

  1. I somehow missed commenting on this one – and I really should because I love your use of vellum and the ethereal look it gives to the flowers. Wonderful framing too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this is so unique and artsy, Joanna! I LOVE the contrast between the minimal numbers of colors used and lots of different texture & dimension. The layered thin frames add so much interest. And you have much more Japanese paper that I do! (and probably you have much more knowledge too.) Hideko xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So elegant and absolutely beautiful. Love the layering and the delicate texture. I always learn so much when I pop in……Thank you x off to investigate Tangucho paper X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so uniquely beautiful Joanna. Love the flower done in black, gray and white. So elegant with the framing and that gorgeous texture around the frame! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You do the most amazing things. I’ve yet to be able to heat emboss vellum but you succeeded beautifully. LOVE your black and white on this stamp. I’d have never thought to do that . Once again, so much texture and imagination in your design. Never heard of tengucho paper but it sounds fascinating. I’m going to have to come up and stamp with you to learn these things! This is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love how you use this stamp in so many different ways, Joanna! The grays make this so classy! What a great idea to use the Frost White to highlight the flower and the frames, vellum and Japanese paper add lots of texture and dimension! Another Joanna masterpiece!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What beautiful colors on your flowers stamped on the vellum Joanna! The off set layering of the thin frames and the wonderful torn edges on the Tangucho paper adds such great texture while still being neutral colors and CAS! A lovely creative design! Julia xx

    Like

  8. Beautifully colored flower image on vellum, Joanna. I love your multiple frames and feathery looking Tengucho paper. TFS your mixed media beauty, my friend. Hugs..

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.