March CAS Mix Up Reminder

Capture d_écran 2018-02-06 à 11.55.36A reminder ACETATE card for the CAS Mix Up Challenge.  You still have time to play, the challenge runs up to March 24th.  For this card, I was inspired by my good friend Bonnie‘s card and I wanted to try the “Spotlight Technique”.  I first stamped onto white card stock, with Versafine ink, an apple blossom branch which I clear heat embossed.  Then I stamped the same stamp with StazOn black ink onto a die cut circle piece of acetate.  On the opposite side I tried to colour with Copics but this technique just didn’t seem to work for me.  So I took out the Alcohol Inks and using a paint brush I applied the colours.  Without sealing the inks I added Glossy Accents to adhere it to my stamped card stock.  The colours moved around but it left an interesting loose look to it, so, with my scissors, I fussy cut the image.  Using a MFT Stitched Square Scallop Frame, die-cut 3 times, I added a piece of Japanese paper as the background, finishing my card with 5 sequins.

There are lots of inspiration to be found by the Design Team and some videos to give you tricks and tips.  Hope to see you in our gallery, HUGz,

JoannaIMG_2404

EnregistrerEnregistrer

10 thoughts on “March CAS Mix Up Reminder

  1. This is such a pretty spotlight effect using the alcohol inked acetate Joanna, and I love the japanese paper in the background of that delightful scalloped frame, and love the added sequins too. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your spotlighted pretty cherry blossoms, Joanna! It’s so interesting to see how the colors moved around on the acetate. It’s a nice touch that the background Japanese paper also has cherry blossom patterns. Hideko xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved your spotlighted cherry blossoms colored with alcohol inks, Joanna. Such a beautiful image made even prettier with your textured Japanese paper and textured framing and card front. I would love to see and touch your gorgeous card IRL:-) TFS my friend. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always look forward to seeing how you created your masterpiece, my friend! Your spotlight stamp is gorgeous and much more artistic than mine! It’s so pretty on the Japanese paper! I need to stop hoarding and use some. It’s so pretty though, I enjoy looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a great way to spotlight this sweet image Jo! The acetate makes the colours bright and shine. And it all looks so pretty on the Japanese paper background. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a clever idea to use acetate for the spotlight technique – it really suits that technique. Love the soft, slightly loose look of the colouring. Great background paper, framing, and scattering of sequins. Thanks so much for creating such a beautiful card for the challenge I’m hosting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love how the alcohol inks moved around slightly when you used the glossy accents, such a unique a gorgeous effect on the acetate. Always so inspirational, always so very creative and such a beautiful card, with lots of fun mixed media elements x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.