A beautiful day

Just came back from snowshoeing and, although it’s cold, capture-decran-2017-01-08-a-13-39-12the trees in the sun were gorgeous since an ice storm left diamonds on all the branches 😉  Crazy, but I do love winter!!!  CAS Mix Up’s sister, CAS Watercolour Card Challenge for January is Snowflake!

I die cut a snowflake out of Strathmore watercolour paper and popped it out leaving the main piece and little pieces in place with wide green painters tape on the underside.  Grabbing Tombow Brush watercolour markers in 3 tones of blue, I slowly added the diluted colours being with the lightest and ending with the darkest.  Once done, I added table salt to add texture…then walk away LOL   Hard to do, but it worked.  Wink of Stella was brushed on the snowflake and then clear heat embossed twice.  Everything was paper pieced together and I added more shine with Daniel Smith Pearlescent Shimmer on the white areas.  “have a beautiful day” was stamped on a torn piece of vellum in Versafine vintage sepia and also clear heat embossed.

That’s my card for this beautiful day, have a good one & thanks for stopping by, HUGz Joannaimg_1377

12 thoughts on “A beautiful day

  1. I love the inlaid snowflake with that beautiful watercoloring around it! I never think to use salt and it adds such wonderful pattern! Gorgeous as always! Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Watercolour!

    Like

  2. What a great idea to brush with Wink of Stella and then clear heat emboss – I must try that! A beautiful card in my favourite shades of blue!

    Like

  3. Your card is beautiful Joanna. Love the design with the inlaid white snowflakes amongst that gorgeous watercoloured background. The bursts from the salt look so AMAZING! The Wink of Stella, heat embossing and pearlescent shimmer really add lots of shimmer and sparkle. Sounds like you had an fantastic day snowshoeing. xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.