May CAS Mix Up 2020

Linda is hosting our CAS Mix Up Challenge this month, using some Gesso Resist. As usual there is plenty of inspiration from videos, the design team and our special guest Pooja.

For this card I die cut 3 Ginkgo IO leaves. I added some gesso with a brayer over the embossed leaves and then with a brush on the edges. I sprinkled some Ost. Blue Brusho and spritzed with Perfect Pearls. That’s when the magic happened. The blue nuances definitely seduced me. I must admit that I will definitely be using this method again on many of my flower and leaf die collections. A Spellbinders Respendent Rectangle panel was die cut and a Unity Wood Grain stamp, by Christy Tomlinson, was white pearl heat embossed. As for the Ginkgo leaves I had to add some gold embossing powder to the stems and the edges.

Do join us this month. Thank you so much for your encouraging comments,

14 thoughts on “May CAS Mix Up 2020

  1. Wow, how interesting and creative to use Gesso with Brusho and Perfect Pearls, Joanna! The Ginkgo leaves are fabulous!! Love the delicious shades of blue/purple with a hint of pearly shine! The white pearl heat-embossing of the back panel beautifully ties to the gold heat-embossed stems and edges of the leaves.
    Hideko xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful shades of blue with your gesso resist Joanna! Those ginkgo are so pretty! They look wonderful over top of your rectangle panel with pearl stripes. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG..Stunning Gesso resist and Brushos colored leaves, Joanna. I love your beautiful textured background panel too. TFS I will be trying the Gesso Resist technique soon:-) Stay Safe and Creative, my friend. Hugs..Nancy

    Like

  4. I don’t have this leaf stencil, but i definitely want to try this technique on some of my die cuts! What awesome results, Jo! The gold edges and stems add an elegant touch and I love the white pearl stamping on the label! And altogether gorgeous card, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You never fail to do an incredibly beautiful card! I just love the ideas you have for using your media! Who but you would have thought to do this- mix perfect pearls, brushos and gesso and get such stunning results. Love the gold edging too! This is GORGEOUS!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.